Trending: Hastings PIer

Hastings Pier Fire Burns by Andy Wilson

A little off topic for me, but this morning I woke to the news that Hastings Pier was on fire. A very sad day for anyone from Hastings.

Did I catch this news on the TV? Nope. I turned on the news and nothing, so I went to Twitter and by 9am Hastings Pier is a trending topic with many sad faces and disbelief.

I quickly scoured the usual networks and Flickr, YouTube, Facebook and Twitter all had amateur footage up with up-to-date information before the breakfast news. The video footage has already recieved 350 views on YouTube.

This just shows how easy it is for peope to create and share content, how communication from the traditional¬† ‘media’ is no longer one way and how social media has really integrated into our lives.

